Laser me….or not.

Well, I went to my consultation visit with Will Vision and Laser Centers.  The appointment took 2 hours!

They did the basic eye exams, as well as checked eye pressure, and took an ultrasound scan of my eye to get it’s individual fingerprint and to map the corneal surface.  Amazing technology.

He must be doing pretty well.  Dr. Will that is.  His offices just kept going, and going, and going.  The waiting room looked like something from Southern Living magazine or this:

But not quite as homey, and more commercial.  All of that said about his offices to get to the point of:  The boy is not hurting for income or clients, and probably won’t miss me…..or more importantly, my money.

So, I’m not totally sold on getting the Lasik done now.  Here’s why.

Your eyes can be dry for months, especially for the farsighted surgery (which my bad eye is)……probably NOT ideal in dusty Kenya.

Your surgery may not take the first time, and you must wait 3 months to get the touch-up surgery, but have to get it done before a year….again, hard to do from KENYA.

In the slight case that your eye becomes infected, you would need to take steroids and be seen by Dr. Will.   Again, think he’ll fly over to Africa for the consultation?

Ok, so…I think my second best option is to wait and get the surgery when we get back from Africa….and

Go pick out a rockin’ pair of back-up glasses, and perhaps a sweet pair of prescription sunglasses for that matter.

Hah!!!  While searching on google images for a sweet sunglasses picture, look what I came across:

I might need this too!!!  What a hoot!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I had lasik surgery done 3 years ago last October in London. My perscription was -5.75 and -6.25. I can honestly say it was the best thing I have every done. There were no complications at all. I had the consultation at 10am on a Tuesday morning, had the op around 12 and was out shopping at 6pm with vision far far better than without my contact lenses. There was a little discomfort but had eye drops for the dryness. The next day my vision was better than 20/20 and it hasn’t deteriorated – I can not recommend the surgery enough – I understand you apprehension if you are off to Africa soon – please email me if you want to know more about it.x

    Reply

  2. Posted by Er on March 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Oh boo, sorry that this isn’t going to work out. But your decision seems to be for the best. I’m sure you will find friends in Thika that can refer you somewhere if you have a glasses emergency…
    Get the mattress for sure, though. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

