One Week – Settling in and Making Friends

Taking a Rest in the Shade

Anne and the kiddos resting inthe shade after our little walk off the compound. 

 

 

 

 

Eli has been cooped up and whenever we get out he climbs, runs, throws something,  or just plain spazes outEli Getting Some ExerciseMeeting the Neighborhoos Kids

We Went for a little walk today and the kids made some new friends.

 

 

 

Eli Really wanted to play with one boy’s old tire and was heart broken that he wouldn’t let him.  Sometimes the best things are not the most expensive things…who knew a tire could be such a coveted toy. 

Eli and Lucy Making Friends

 

 

 

 Two worlds come together.  This was a great moment. 

 

 

Farmer Eli

 

This dude joked with us as we walked by asking me to come help him work his field.  I told him my back was hurting and hunched over…he laughed.  On the way back home Eli went and helped him turn some red soil, He liked it and invited me to his place in one of the slums next to our compound.  I told him I’d come by another day.

Walking along the main road to Thika Town

 

 

 

Here we are walking along the  main road leading to our town, Thika.  We’re on our way back from the day’s excursion and everyone’s hot and tired.  The kids love the rough terrain.  Lucy runs..falls…runs..falls…while Eli pretends to be a train or plane or who knows what motorized wild vehicle.  I guess I didn’t say much so far in this post, but like I said yesterday..the images speak better than I write.   BTW, our modem is so slow this took me over an hour to post so far.  It usually works best in the morning here so from 8pm on in Portland.  

Oh, we can’t wait to sleep tonight…we got the good bug nets all treated and installed.  That and a fan and we should sleep like babies.  Check them out…I just woke the kids from nap taking the picture.  These go all the way around the mattress and zip completely shut.  All for a whopping $10 – 15 each.  When I tried to buy them online before leaving they were something like $60…some things are cheap here….the $6 frozed 1.5kg chicken I bought yesterday was not. 

 Kids Nets

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our Net

 

 

 

 

 

 

There’s one more sweet image for the day that I’ll let Anne post and describe because I was inside working on the nets.  Heron, Lena, Anne and two security guards spotted a bug black cobra, momba… I dont know… a big snake of some sort (I guess it stood up like 2-3 ft tall to try and strike one of them).   There was lots of jumping screaming and laughing at each other while they bravely tried to kill it….it got away but no one was hurt.  Safe and sound in Thika.  We’re now sitting on our borrowed loveseat watching backyardagains dvd on the computer and the kids are begging me for candy.  Guess they’re feeling OK.  Ian

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by connie on May 8, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I just read your blog for the first time… you guys are writers and have a best seller going here as far as I am concerned. I read sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time,with those great “belly laughs” only a good joke brings. You are amazing people and I am so excited to get to know you better!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anna on May 8, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    unreal – praying loads!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Erin on May 9, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Me too, praying loads! Loving the play by play, trying to imagine it all.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jenn S on May 9, 2009 at 6:35 am

    You had me at BUGS. Anne you are a bigger woman than I. Thinking of you all constantly. Blessings abound. You are all loved and missed.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Eve on May 9, 2009 at 9:43 am

    What memories you will have! I’m sure the stories will never end. We still miss you tons!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Cindi on May 9, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    glad everything is ok Anne I hope you have a Happy Mother’s day
    love ya

    Reply

  7. Posted by Bonita on May 9, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I had my first good night sleep since we left you at the airport. The “big picture” started to fall into place when I reviewed the work of the Salvation Army in Kenya East. A good place to start is http://www.salvationarmy.org/kya/www_kya.nsf/vw-text-dynamic-arrays/6A4F44D31E3C79CC8025755100427A97?openDocument

    You are on a Salvation Army compound surrounded by 1000s of Salvationists who have been working for Christ in Kenya for over a 100+ yrs. Salvation Army was started in England by Catherine Booth as part of the Wesleyan Holiness Movement. Kenya was colonized by England so it makes sense that British missionaries would go to a British colony. They have over 200 school properties in East Kenya. There is even a cadet (students training for ministry) training school in Thika! Your in good company!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Todd on May 9, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Hey Folks,

    Hard to believe you area across the world already. A, looking forward to following your adventure.

    Todd

    Reply

  9. Posted by Linda C Hardin on May 10, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Anne,Ian,Eli and Lucia
    You are amazing! The faith you follow and the work you do makes this world a better place.
    Thoughts and Prayers.
    Love, Linda (Hardin)

    Reply

  10. Posted by Sarah on May 10, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Good morning Eli and Lucy. You should be up for the day as I write this before I go to bed. We just got done praying for you with Lauren and Issac. They both miss you and love to see your pictures and hear about you adventures. Mom and Dad we are proud of you and remember; the unfamiliar is uncomfortable but as you embody Christ’s love to His precious ones His love will bloom and make all things comfortable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

