Doctor Update

Sorry that I wasn’t able to write yesterday when we returned home from the doctor and Nairobi.  We have been fighting random power outages for about a week.

So I had an appt. with a wonderful ob/gyn yesterday.  She was everything I had prayed she would be:  knowledgeable, empathetic, encouraging….

But she did confirm that I was in the process of a miscarriage, and sent me for an ultrasound to double check  and it came back in agreement.

It is hard to believe that we were in this position not even a year ago.   In God’s grace, he makes this load easier to bear having had that experience.  My heart was guarded during this pregnancy, and perhaps because of such, it makes it easier to process this loss  and continue on with all of the craziness that is everyday life…kids that need to be mediated, laundry, picking up the never ending  mess, food.

The OB/Gyn didn’t have an explanation for the 2 miscarriages in a row, but I will go back in another week for a repeat ultrasound to make sure everything is ok and then we will run blood tests….she has several ideas on what we might do to better support an early pregnancy so this doesn’t keep happening.  We’ll see how all of that goes.

Thank you to all of you for you prayers of support and healing for our hearts.  If you know us, you know that we love kids and I especially love babies.  🙂   Continue to pray that the physical aspect of this process goes smoothly and with less pain than last time.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shawnna on July 30, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Oh Anne, I am so sorry. We will keep lifting you up in prayer.

    Reply

  2. Posted by vicki steele on July 30, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    So sorry! Will continue to keep y’all in my prayers. Take good care…

    Reply

  3. I’m so sorry, Anne. You’ll be in our prayers.

    Reply

  4. I’m so sorry to hear that- I’ll be praying.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dana on July 30, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    So sorry to hear this news. I have been praying and thinking about you all.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Natalie on July 30, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    I’m so sorry 😦

    Reply

  7. Posted by Todd on July 31, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I am so very sorry to hear that news Anne…please know you are in our hearts.

    Todd

    Reply

  8. Posted by Martha T on August 1, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Anne, I am very sorry to hear of your trouble. I am thinking of you and your family. God Bless.
    Martha T

    Reply

  9. So sad for you guys. Missing you and wishing the Goldies could give you all hugs. Love you guys.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jamie on August 8, 2009 at 1:28 am

    Anne and Ian…
    Words cannot even begin to describe how sorry we are to hear your news. We will be praying for peace and God’s comfort as you go through this.

    Reply

  11. Posted by mandylee4christ on August 11, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I came across your blog and wanted to offer my condolences for your 2 losses. I have gone through 3 in a row – still without a baby in arms so I know how difficult it can be.

    But through it all – the Lord is sovereign. Scripture says that he has all of our days written in His book. Whether that be 8 weeks in the womb, 8 years, 18 years or 98 years… He knows.

    I always find comfort in knowing that He is in control and will always work things according to His ultimate glory and my ultimate good. Plus, I have 3 perfect babies in heaven. How cool is that!

    Peace to you in Christ,

    Amanda

    Reply

    • Posted by mayfamily on August 12, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Mandy,
      Thank you for your kind words. I imagine your road is even more difficult than mine. I will keep you in my prayers. Not sure how you found the blog, but you are more than welcome to follow us in our journey here in Kenya!

      May the desires of your heart be fulfilled,
      Anne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

