A teaser:

Ok, you can say it’s mean, but at  least I am getting something on here!

To say that my body is not my own these last 2 days is an understatement.  I’m pretty sure most of you know what I’m talking about.  Donna Gray, you would simply DIE if you saw how tight and almost small those particular articles of clothing are that you kindly sent me. 

But here is what I must say all joking aside.

When Ameena was born, it was a bit traumatic, and fast, and initially, I was in too much shock to hold her or look at her much.  I have never had that experience with either Lucy or Eli.

Later that day though, when we were back in our room and things had settled, respectively, I was overcome with the most amazing sense of awe, and gratitude and humility for all that God has brought me and our family through in the past year.  To say that it has been an easy journey is … well … I wish I could say that.  To say that this baby hasn’t been long hoped for and prayed over is putting it mildly.    I have shared with so many others of you who have  grieved the inability to have a child, or the loss of a child(ren) and know that Ameena is a wonderful gift, not only because she is the child we desired, but also because she will be a reminder of this part of our life when we took a leap of faith and left the familiar to come to Kenya and experience all that we have.

And so, knowing all of that, it makes sense that on the day before this little one was born her mom and dad suddenly changed her name from Eden Olivia to Ameena Olivia.  A nod to her Kenyan start, and to the Swahili meaning of truth and trustworthiness.

Here is a picture of this sweet little one who cries like a cat:

1 day old

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Eve on May 10, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    So sweet, Anne. I can’t help but think back to that long day, sitting on Erin’s front yard, waiting for you to get back from your doctors appt. I was so sure that they were going to tell you that everything was fine, but it was not to be. We are so thrilled to celebrate this birth and miracle with you. Can I also tell you that Erin and I had a secret bet that you would give the baby an African middle name?! You one-upped both of us and I LOVE it!

    Reply

  2. She’s beautiful- congrats!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Karissa on May 10, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    She is amazing! When I saw that picture, all I could think about is how much I wanted to hold her. I’ve been telling everyone I know that she is safely here and how amazed I am at the development of the last year of your lives. It is a wonderful story of faith, love, and trust in God. She is the best souvenir!

    Reply

  4. Anne, Im so happy for you guys! I love the name Ameena, it sounds beautiful. Congrats on everything that life has brought you in such a short time.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dana on May 11, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Anne and Ian,
    Congratulations on your beautiful new daughter! I am so happy that she has arrived and is healthy. Take care and can’t wait to see you when you return to Portland.
    ; )

    Reply

  6. Posted by Rebecca on May 11, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Congratulations May Family! She is beautiful! I can’t wait to meet her! Looking forward to your return to Portland. Take care of each other and God bless!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jennifer on May 12, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I am so happy for you all. Your new baby is such a gift from God. She is stunning. Congratulations!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Craig on May 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    What a beauty! Lover her smile.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Todd and Betsy on May 15, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Congratulations!!! We are so happy for you all.

    Todd and Betsy

    Reply

  10. Posted by Gail Cook on May 16, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Congratulations Anne and Ian! Her name is beautiful and what a wonderful meaning. I am sure she will treasure her name and its meaning as she grows up. Every baby enters this world with their own very special and unique story. Can’t wait to hear more about Ameena’s story. Hoping that you are able to soak up this newborn time that is SO crazy and goes SO fast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

